Pounding Heart

A jolt of fear flows through my veins, never
Has anything so strong, such an instinct to
Escape filled every pore of my being before.
Rather than a feeling of wanting to run, escape
To a far away and safe place my driving instinct is
To hide, bundle up warm in a blanket, relive
Those precious moments within my mind, within the
Chambers of my pounding heart. This is what fear
Feels like, a heavily pounding heart, sweet Jesus
This is terrifying, I feel like my body and
Soul are about to part…

One thought on “Pounding Heart

Leave a Reply

