Death

We are taught to fear
This almighty power,
A man draped in black
With a sickle for sacrificing
Life. He is a terrorising
Figure, who takes and takes
And takes, or so we are told.

But that surely isn’t right,
He is an old friend, our only
Constant companion in life.
Why don’t we greet him thus?
When my time comes, whether it
Be near or far from here I
Will step forwards with open
Arms, I hope he shall greet me
With joy, for though I have departed
Life I will have found the next
Great adventure.

Death isn’t anything to fear,
He’s there to greet us
As life seeps away from our being,
He will guide us and keep us
From harm as we step into the
Loving embraces
of our soulmates arms.

Leave a Reply

