Big Girl Now

You’re not who I need,
Not who I want.
But I’m stuck with you
Because blood is thicker
Than external requirements.

You treat me with disdain,
Yet I treat you with respect.
You look down on me
While I look across to you.

I’m not a child anymore,
I may owe my existence
To you but that’s all.
You stole my childhood
From me when you walked
Out the door. It’s affected
Me more than you know,
Hurt more than you will ever
Understand.

Just don’t feel like you have
To stick around anymore,
I don’t need anybody
To hold my hand.

I’m a big girl now.

2 thoughts on “Big Girl Now

Leave a Reply

