Ages

At nine months old
I knew nothing,
Nothing but what my eyes
Could see, Mummy, Daddy, Jonny and me.

At five years old
I wanted to be a grown up,
I wished to marry my best friend.
Just me and my Tommy. But it wasn’t to be.

At nine years old
I started to understand,
Life could be cruel and death
Snapped at my families hand.

At fifteen years old
I’d suffered too much,
A brother had been lost
And no one dared touch the banshee I’d become.

Now nineteen years old,
I often wonder where hope has gone.
I long to be happy, healthy and strong.
Instead I am stuck,
Ordinary forever; fearing that life
Will never get any better.

Leave a Reply

